Zucchini Bread, Africa, and Corporations.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. I’ve been too busy lately to bake/cook/sleep. ugh! I’m going to include a lot of random thoughts in this post. You’ve been warned with the title.

I’m taking a break from reading  because my best friend (since pre-school!!) is leaving me tomorrow to volunteer in Africa. I am so incredibly proud  of her, however it just hit me that she will be in another country until May, and….I’m a big baby about these things so I’m currently very sad and simultaneously very excited for her. You should follow  her blog: http://traceyspinato.tumblr.com/

anyways, I’m trying to pull it together, so on to the baking…

I had some zucchini in the fridge, and decided to bake a loaf of zucchini bread. A little background on this bread: it is AMAZING. Brett’s mom taught me how to make it (she’s pretty amazing too.)  Mine never comes out as good as hers. Sometimes its too mushy, sometimes too crusty (like this time), but it’s still yummy and very fast and easy to make.  If you try any of the recipes on here, this one should be it. It’s really yummy (if you’ve never had it, I’d say it’s along the same lines as banana bread..kinda…closest thing I could think of).

BIG THANK YOU TO NANCY PANTS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!! Love you!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of flour (all-purpose white non bleached)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup sugar
1 cup finely shredded unpeeled zucchini (Nancy uses a little more than a cup, and therefore so do I )
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Oven at 350 degrees

Grease with vegetable oil a meatloaf size pan (8x4x2 inch loaf pan)
** I used an aluminum loaf pan for this one.

In one mixing bowl stir together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and baking powder.

In another mixing bowl beat together the zucchini and sugar first (when you start to beat/stir this, the sugar makes the zucchini get wet).
Beat in the egg
Add and beat in the oil.

Stir the flour mixture into the zucchini mixture. (You might need a plastic small spatula to get the mixture off the edges and to mix in)
Fold into the greased pan

Bake for 55 minutes.
see mine came out a bit crustier than I would have liked…I got a little distracted by the copious amounts of con-law reading I had that night..

once it cools a little, run a knife along the edges of the pan to loosen and turn upside down on a plate to try to get the bread out of the pan.
Wrap in aluminum foil and plastic, and it’ll stay good for a few days.

SCHOOL: has been stressing me out so much lately. I feel like I gave myself a terrible schedule. Between having four classes on Wednesdays and work on Tuesdays and Thursdays I’m feeling constantly behind. I’m starting to get disappointed that the one class that I was most excited and eager to learn this semester (CORPORATIONS), has suddenly gotten SO HARD. I’m going to work on it this weekend, however if you know this stuff, and want to teach me….feel free!!
Finally, I was in NJ and had a special request to make Kefi’s Shrimp with Orzo and Tomato for my mom for dinner. I’ve made this before and my family really likes it. I love the food at Kefi, so if you haven’t been…you should go! and make this recipe!
I didn’t get a chance to take pictures during the cooking process, but here was the end rushed result. (we were all REALLY hungry that night)
Back to reading…xoxo


4 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread, Africa, and Corporations.

  1. first we have Lori Macsata to thank for this recipe… She started us on this! Second I love how you added to mix the zucchini and the sugar and watch how it gets the zucchini wet!
    We love you too!

    Good luck to you Tracey…. Stay healthy and safe!

Leave a Reply

