Oatmeal Cookies

Today is the end of my school week. Thank god.  After having class from 9:30 am – 5:40 pm today (and every Wednesday) I’m thankful to have the day off school tomorrow. I’ll still be at work, however it’s the lesser of two evils right now. I’m sure I will be singing a different tune come tomorrow morning.

My favorite recipe resource TASTESPOTTING is featuring oatmeal this month in the oatmeal project and in honor of that and the fact that I just bought a new box of oats..I made oatmeal cookies. (BTW 99.9% of my recipes I find on tastespotting)

I’ve tried to make “healthy” oatmeal cookies in the past, and they’ve always been a disaster. They usually end up tasting or looking horrible. I tried to back it up and tackle making oatmeal cookies that tasted good before trying to make them healthy. I did not have high hopes for these cookies. To my surprise….they were  really good, and are all gone. 😦 I wish I was eating one right now…

I used this recipe from What’s Gaby Cooking

Makes 34-36 cookies

Ingredients:

8 oz unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 3/4 cups old-fashioned oats
10 oz chocolate chips

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In a large mixer, combine the softened butter and brown sugar with a whisk attachment. Let whisk for 2 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, followed by the vanilla extract. Add the flour, baking soda, sea salt and baking powder and slowly combine, making sure not to over-mix the batter. Add the oats and chocolate chips and combine. Refrigerate batter for 1 hour.

Using a spoon, scoop 12 cookies onto each parchment lined baking sheet. Transfer sheets into over and bake for 10-12 minutes until the cookies just slightly turn a golden brown color on the edges but are still soft and chewy in the middle.

Remove from oven, transfer to cooling rack.

Repeat process for remaining dough.

and you’re done!

I think next I’m going to experiment with making an oatmeal cake…I’ve never had that but it sounds like something I’d be interested in 😉

This weekend I’m attempting a pretty challenging (for me) cake for a valentine’s day party I’m attending. I will post my success and or failure soon after.

**Since starting this blog I’ve gotten some great baking gifts from my loved ones. I’ve gotten cookbooks, bake-ware, cake container, etc. The cookbooks I’ve gotten are amazing and I plan on testing out some new recipes from them in the near future. But for now big thanks to Brett, Mikey , and Tray for your great presents…I love them!! You guys are spoiling me and my kitchen!

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

