Law School “Spring Break”

This is going to be a short post, mainly because I am SO swamped with work and stressed out. I miss the days when a week off of school involved relaxing. For me its been extra time in my cubicle at work and a LOT of school work.

I was sick the week before this break started so this has been a combination of catching up on school work, and getting ready for the next two weeks. I will be MIA until March 9th. Until then I have an employment agreement to write for my drafting contracts class, studying for the MPRE this saturday (I didn’t pass the first time by ONE question, that’s what I get for not studying the first time around!), and an evidence midterm on the 9th. I sadly don’t see a lot of baking time until these three things are over šŸ˜¦

I did try to enjoy my time off from school a little, and spent the first weekend of it in Vermont. Ā I made these M&M cookies for the drive up because 1) the m&m’s were on sale atĀ DuaneĀ Reade, and 2) I just learned that M&M cookies areĀ Brett’sĀ favorite. I’m always excited to go to Vermont for all the obvious reasons, but this trip i was reallyĀ excitedĀ to visit “The lawyer and Baker” bakery in Manchester. It was closed when we went, but I’m glad I got to see it.

They didn’t turn out looking like I wanted them too, whats cooking gaby’s cookies are much prettier. I’m not sure how she got hers to look so perfect, but mine Ā were very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, adding a little bit more salt than she used (I just realized that I add more salt to everything, including my cookies. This is a problem).

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter (at room temp)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 cup AP flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
Half bag of Valentineā€™s M&Ms

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Cream together the butter and sugars in a mixer. Add the eggs and vanilla, making sure to scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl. Add the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder and mix on low until everything is incorporated.

Chill the dough in the refrigerate for 2 hours. (I put mine in the freezer Ā because I was impatient)

Scoop out a 1/4 cup size of dough and roll it into a ball.

Roll it around in some M&Mā€™s and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Place 6 cookies on a sheet since they will spread due to their size.

Bake for 12-14 minutes until just slightly golden around the edges. Remove from oven and let rest on the baking sheet. (I needed my baking sheets for the rest of the batches of cookies so i needed to cook these through a little more as the original recipe would have them resting on the baking sheet, hence continue baking outside the oven)

See? Not as pretty as hers.

Very yummy though! Okay, back to reading, cramming , and stressing šŸ˜¦

2 thoughts on “Law School “Spring Break”

  1. i’m convinced you are trying to fatten me up. everyone, but specifically me. you know i love this color scheme & brett & i have something in common bc m&m cookies are also my favorite!!!!!! ā¤ your soon to be fat friend (again)

Leave a Reply

