Leigh’s famous amazing delicous chocolate chip cookies

I apologize for not baking and posting here as often as I had hoped this summer. The bottom line is: my kitchen gets REALLY hott…and I was out doing fun things that didn’t involve sweating in my nyc sized kitchen!

I do have some fun food pictures from this summer though!

Carrots at a VT farmer's market. Photo credits and thanks go to AKG

fresh produce at the VT farmers market. Photo credits and thanks go to AKG!

The beginnings of a fresh greek salad..

My attempt at Cajun spiced blackened tilapia, corn salsa, and Cilantro lime rice

Friday night home-made pizza with my boo

Brett’s aunt Leigh is one of my baking idols. She’s right up there with Cake Boss.  She makes beautiful and creative cakes, as well as the best chocolate chip cookies ever.

Below are just a SAMPLING of her amazing cakes…work’s of art!

Back to Aunt Leigh’s cookies…

Her cookies are totally different than mine. No matter how many times I try this I can’t get the taste and consistency to match hers.

This summer, some friends and I escaped Manhattan for beautiful Vermont. I thought it’d be nice to greet them after such a long drive with some warm chocolate chip cookies. That was the one and ONLY time I got my cookies to be as close as possible to Aunt Leigh’s. My friends all enjoyed them, especially TIM! (Tim appreciates food in a way that more people should!)

Tim had a fun birthday party recently. I wanted to bake him something special for his day….so I made him these chocolate chip cookies instead of baking him a cake. It was a good idea because his gf Annie had already gotten him this beautiful and delicious one:

this cake was from : http://www.twolittleredhens.com/ I HIGHLY recommend it

I tried to replicate the same steps I had made in Vermont, however they did not come out super thin like Aunt Leigh’s. Guess the VT cookies were a fluke. Aun Leigh told me that these cookies required beating the butter and sugars for a LONG TIME in order to get her consistency….doesn’t seem to work for me every time..but maybe I am still not beating them enough?! who knows.

These cookies are very yummy none the less. I like to add a little extra salt to compliment the chocolate. Big THANK YOU to Leigh for being my baking idol and lending me her recipe (adapted from Martha Stewart…another idol)

Chocolate Chip Cookies: Makes about 3 dozen (Leigh’s tips in Bold)

My List !

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt ( I add in a little bit more than this) 

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

½ cup packed dark-brown sugar

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 large whole egg, plus 1 large egg white

12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips or chunks (about 2 cups)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees, with racks in the upper and lower thirds.  Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside. (Yes, you have to bake these on parchment paper – wax paper or using nothing at all does not work.)

 In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. (keep mixing the butter and sugars (more than the 3 minutes) and make sure they are really light and fluffy before you start adding the other ingredients.)

 Add the vanilla, whole egg and egg white.  Beat on low speed until well combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed, about 1 minute.  Add flour mixture in two batches; mix until just combined.  Mix in chocolate.

I ran out of Godiva Chocolate chips for this recipe, so I chopped up a bar of German milk chocolate...turned out well!

 

Never skimp on chocolate..

Shape 2 heaping tablespoons of dough at a time into balls and place about 1½  inches apart on prepared baking sheets.  

Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies are golden brown, about 18 minutes.  (I do 6 minutes before rotating pans (top to bottom and front to back) then about another 5 for the top rack.  Then I move the bottom rack back to the top for about another minute or 2.  Watch them carefully, they quickly go from undone to overdone.  Better to take them out a minute early than leave them in too long.  I remove them from the baking sheet (still leaving them on the parchment to cool completely) immediately because otherwise they keep cooking.  Don’t try to remove them from the parchment until they’ve cooled otherwise, they become a big mess.)   Transfer parchment and cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.  Cookies can be kept in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 4 days.

Voila, you have the best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever tried. Thin or not…these always come out tasting really yummy. I don’t mind so much that I can’t get the same result as Leigh..mainly because it gives me a reason to experiment and….I like thick chocolate chip cookies (Brett likes them thinner!)

THANK YOU LEIGH!!! for letting my share your tips and recipe. And Super big happy birthday again to Tim-bo….thank you for appreciating my baking..and being my pal!

cooling

Leave a Reply

