Back to life (and baking)

Hello!  Baking and Entering is back by somewhat popular demand. The five people that read this blog requested that I start blogging again 🙂

Since my last post I haven’t spent a lot of time in the kitchen, however I have graduated law school and survived taking the NY and NJ bar exams. In order to keep myself sane while studying I constantly made lists of all the things that I would do once I was set free from the library: get in shape (sitting for a few months straight does horrible things to ones body), regain a social life, be really nice to Brett ALL the time, read books for LEISURE (I attempted to read 50 Shades of Gray to find out what all the fuss was about…I am 50 pages in and I think I’ve had enough! Book recommendations please!!!),  find a job, bake and cook!

I haven’t done most of what’s on my list….I’m working on it!

Being unemployed right after the Bar exam is a blessing in disguise. I really need this break mentally, physically, and emotionally. However, I am coming to the realization that at some point I have to get a job 😦

Yesterday afternoon I needed a break from the job hunt and decided to hit the kitchen again.

In the past few months, the only thing I’ve baked are SNICKER-DOODLES. They are my greatest hit when it comes to cookies and luckily REALLY easy to make.

In trying to keep with the ever so popular cinnamon and sugar theme, I decided to make these French Breakfast Muffins for Brett.

SIDE NOTE: Over the past few months Brett has been a SAINT to me. He made me feel better when I was crying 150 times a day. He did my laundry so that I wouldn’t smell in the library. He went grocery shopping for me, bought me presents, and listened to my never ending whining.  I appreciate his encouragement and support during the bar exam and the past three years of law school. I am trying to make up for some of my crazy behavior right now–hence many baked goods for his belly! (and your’s, come over!!)

FRENCH BREAKFAST MUFFINS 

(adapted from Velvet Lava Cake)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 c. butter, melted
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 egg (preferably room temperature)
  • 1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. milk

Topping (option: cut topping in half if you only want to dip the top of the muffin in the butter/sugar mixture*)
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F.

  • In a medium-large bowl, sift together all dry ingredients.

  • Add wet ingredients

  • stir until combined. It’s okay if it’s lumpy.  Don’t over-mix!

  • Scoop batter into muffin tins that have sprayed with cooking spray.

  •  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until they just start to turn a bit golden at the edges.

  • For the topping, mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.

  • Place melted butter in another small bowl. Dip the warm muffins in melted butter (you can dip just the top, but it’s even BETTER to dip the whole muffin)

  • then dip/roll the muffin in cinnamon sugar.

ENJOY! I recommend having these with a breakfast cup of coffee.

One thought on “Back to life (and baking)

Leave a Reply

