Summer Blueberries and Cilantro

Hello!

First I want to start out by thanking everyone that reads this little old blog for being so supportive, kind, and most importantly for reading!

I was so excited to start blogging and baking again until I realized it is WAY too hot and humid in NYC to be eating heavy sweets. Not to mention I have a big post bar vacation coming up and I am trying (and failing) to be bikini ready in time!!

While at the store the other day I saw some beautiful blueberry muffins and thought that they would be perfect for my tried and true blueberry crumb muffins. And since muffins are breakfast, I can’t feel TOO bad about eating them. Right?

Brett says that I don’t like to repeat any recipes, however when its a good one I never switch. This is the best blueberry muffin recipe I’ve ever tried, and have stuck by it for almost 4 years! Try it. I promise you will love it. I love this recipe because it’s not too heavy, not too sweet, and the blueberries stay scattered in the batter instead of sinking to the bottom. I’m not a fan of fruit at the bottom muffins.

Tips for this recipe:

Don’t skimp on the blueberries or the crumb topping–they are the best part! Don’t over mix the batter–I mixed these muffins by hand

Blueberry Crumb Muffins adapted from Savory-Bites 

Ingredients (muffin):

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

Ingredients (Crumble):

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted (in the microwave)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Recipe:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.
  • Combine dry ingredients:  flour,  sugar, salt and baking powder.
  • Place vegetable oil into a  measuring cup and add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup.

  • Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries.

 

  • To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together sugar, flour,  butter, and cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.

  • Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.


Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.

 

YUM YUM YUM…and now the finished product…

 

AFTER I made muffins, it was time to make dinner!

This dinner was a Pinterest inspiration. I have to admit that I am slightly obsessed with Pinterest. I like to store my recipes there and get new ideas from other pinners. My one complaint is that I’ve tried several dinner recipes from the site that have turned out pretty bad 😦

Not this dinner though! I started with a Cilantro Lime Grilled chicken and decided to make a corn salsa that I often make, coupled with a copy cat Chipotle rice.

Warning: every element of this meal had Cilantro in it. Not on purpose. If you don’t like cilantro you probably should stop reading here.

Cilantro Lime Grilled Chicken adapted from My Recipes

Ingredients

  • 4 boned, skinned chicken breast halves (2 lb. total)
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. Pound the chicken breasts to an even thickness (about 1/2 in.) and place in a shallow baking pan.
2. In a small bowl, mix lime juice, cilantro, garlic, honey, olive oil, salt, and pepper.

 

3. Pour over chicken and turn pieces to coat evenly. Cover and chill at least 30 minutes or overnight.

4. Lay chicken on a grill over medium heat or a grill pan like I did (you can hold your hand over the surface only 4 to 5 seconds) and cook, turning once, until no longer pink in the center, 4 to 6 minutes per side.

 

For my Corn Salsa I start with:

  • Chopped Cilantro
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Chopped red onion
  • Lime juice

 

And Some Trader Joes Roasted Corn (SO GOOD I LOVE IT)

 

I heat up a tablespoon of olive oil and saute the roasted corn until warm (remember it is pre-cooked!) with a couple dash’s of paprika, salt and pepper

 

Once the corn is warmed up mix up the corn, onions, cilantro and tomatoes in a bowl with some lime juice. Add a little bit of lime juice at a time and keep tasting until its perfect and half the bowl is gone 😉

 

 

Finally I make regular white rice, making sure to rinse the rise before so that it’s not sticky and I mix with some cilantro, lime juice, salt and pepper

and Voila! a summer-ey, delicious, cilantro packed meal!

 

One thought on “Summer Blueberries and Cilantro

Leave a Reply

